You are here

AMAA 2018: Organisers Announce Entries Deadline For Continental Movie Awards

Lagos State
Start Date:
June 2, 2018
End Date:
June 2, 2018


The statement read: “Only films produced and released between June 2016 and January 2018 may be entered for this celebration of African cinema.”

“The primary aim of the AMA Awards is to facilitate the development and the showcasing of the social relevance of African film and cinema. The awards are presented to recognize and honor excellence in professional filmmaking in the African film industry and the African Diaspora.

“Over the years, the award presentation has been attended by numerous international media representatives, Hollywood celebrities, Nigerian politicians, other African politicians, journalists, film industry professionals, and actors and actresses from across Africa.”

The 2017 African Movie Academy Awards took place on July 15, 2017 at the Eko Hotels Convention Center in Lagos. The exciting and glitzy event was hosted by notable Nollywood actress Nse Ikpe Etim.

For this year’s event, organisers say filmmakers must ensure that each completed entry form must be accompanied by all the supporting materials listed on the submission forms, including the synopsis of the film, the list of credits, marketing stills of the film, filmographies of the directors and producers, copies of the film in 3DVDS or a hard drive plus a compulsory online submission via vimeo / we transfer and proof of the right to submit. All films must also indicate the year of copyright.

They say the Academy will not accept any film that exceeds the 120-minute run as a feature or a short film that is longer than 40 minutes.

International submissions can be made on: and all submissions also on

To stay up to date with the latest information regarding the 14th African Movie Academy Awards or for nomination submissions, visit the African Movie Academy Awards Website at

As the countdown to the 14th Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA), the Premier Africa Film Awards, begins, the Africa Film Academy cordially invites filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary works for consideration in nearly 30 categories of the awards. According to a statement issued by the organisers on Thursday, the deadline for all submissions is January 30, 2018 while late entry deadline is February 14, 2018.